FAA NOTAMs

< FDC - "Flight Data Center" (Issuing Facility) / NOTAM - "Notice to Airmen">
<TFR - "Temporary Flight Restriction" >
< 1 nautical mile (nm) = 1.15 statute mile (sm) >
Get timely alerts on NOTAM/TFRs affecting Model Aviation on the Web or on your Cell Phone at:

FAA TFR list

More Reading:

• The FAA TFR briefing guide explains the various types and uses of TFRs in the National Airspace System (NAS).
• Read how AMA Is Finding A Solution For Special Flight Rules Area (SFRA) in the D.C. Area.
• Read Rich Hanson's In the Air article explaining the affect TFRs have on model aviation.
• Read our letter to the US Department of Homeland Security about the affects of TFRs on model aviation.
• Also all our archived files and articles.

Current TFRs:

Posted 6/23/16:

A FAA NOTAM/TFR has been issued for Seattle, Washington and the surrounding area from Friday, June 24th at 3:15 pm PDT, to Saturday, June 25th at 10:30 am PDT. The TFR is issued for security purposes to cover VIP movement in this area. Outdoor radio control model aircraft operations are prohibited within the 30nm circle for the specific times listed below. Control Line and Free Flight modelers should use discretion when operating within the TFR. Please note that TFRs are subject to change with very short notice. Check back often for the most current NOTAM/TFR information.

See the link to the TFR below for more detailed information regarding the restrictions:

Map View of the Affected Area

    Area A
    Airspace Definition:
        Center: On the SEATTLE VORTAC (SEA) 344 degree radial at 11.5 nautical miles. (Latitude: 47º37'33"N, Longitude: 122º17'33"W)
        Radius: 30 nautical miles
        Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
    Effective Date(s):
        From June 24, 2016 at 2215 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1515 PDT)
        To June 25, 2016 at 1700 UTC (June 25, 2016 at 1000 PDT)
     
    Area B
    Airspace Definition:
        Center: On the SEATTLE VORTAC (SEA) 344 degree radial at 11.5 nautical miles. (Latitude: 47º37'33"N, Longitude: 122º17'33"W)
        Radius: 11 nautical miles
        Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
    Effective Date(s):
        From June 24, 2016 at 2215 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1515 PDT)
        To June 25, 2016 at 1700 UTC (June 25, 2016 at 1000 PDT)
     
    Area C
    Airspace Definition:
        Center: On the SEATTLE VORTAC (SEA) 111 degree radial at 0.7 nautical miles. (Latitude: 47º25'39"N, Longitude: 122º17'44"W)
        Radius: 30 nautical miles
        Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
    Effective Date(s):
        From June 25, 2016 at 1630 UTC (June 25, 2016 at 0930 PDT)
        To June 25, 2016 at 1730 UTC (June 25, 2016 at 1030 PDT)
     
    Area D
    Airspace Definition:
        Center: On the SEATTLE VORTAC (SEA) 111 degree radial at 0.7 nautical miles. (Latitude: 47º25'39"N, Longitude: 122º17'44"W)
        Radius: 10 nautical miles
        Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
    Effective Date(s):
        From June 25, 2016 at 1630 UTC (June 25, 2016 at 0930 PDT)
        To June 25, 2016 at 1730 UTC (June 25, 2016 at 1030 PDT)

Posted 6/21/16:

    A FAA NOTAM/TFR has been issued for San Jose, California and the surrounding area from Thursday, June 23rd at 4:45 pm PDT, to Friday, June 24th at 2:00 pm PDT. The TFR is issued for security purposes to cover VIP movement in this area. Outdoor radio control model aircraft operations are prohibited within the 30nm circle for the specific times listed below. Control Line and Free Flight modelers should use discretion when operating within the TFR. Please note that TFRs are subject to change with very short notice. Check back often for the most current NOTAM/TFR information.

    See the link to the TFR below for more detailed information regarding the restrictions:

    Map View of the Affected Area

        
      Area A
      Airspace Definition:
          Center: On the SAN JOSE VOR/DME (SJC) 010 degree radial at 4.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 37º26'26"N, Longitude: 121º54'18"W)
          Radius: 32 nautical miles
          Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
      Effective Date(s):
          From June 23, 2016 at 2345 UTC (June 23, 2016 at 1645 PDT)
          To June 24, 2016 at 2100 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1400 PDT)
       
      Area B
      Airspace Definition:
          Center: On the SAN JOSE VOR/DME (SJC) 280 degree radial at 5.6 nautical miles. (Latitude: 37º24'58"N, Longitude: 122º02'57"W)
          Radius: 10 nautical miles
          Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
      Effective Date(s):
          From June 23, 2016 at 2345 UTC (June 23, 2016 at 1645 PDT)
          To June 24, 2016 at 0100 UTC (June 23, 2016 at 1800 PDT)
       
      Area C
      Airspace Definition:
          Center: On the SAN JOSE VOR/DME (SJC) 025 degree radial at 2.7 nautical miles. (Latitude: 37º24'31"N, Longitude: 121º54'28"W)
          Radius: 10 nautical miles
          Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
      Effective Date(s):
          From June 24, 2016 at 0015 UTC (June 23, 2016 at 1715 PDT)
          To June 24, 2016 at 1745 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1045 PDT)
       
      Area D
      Airspace Definition:
          Center: On the WOODSIDE VORTAC (OSI) 053 degree radial at 5.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 37º25'22"N, Longitude: 122º10'29"W)
          Radius: 10 nautical miles
          Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
      Effective Date(s):
          From June 24, 2016 at 1700 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1000 PDT)
          To June 24, 2016 at 2030 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1330 PDT)
       
      Area E
      Airspace Definition:
          Center: On the SAN JOSE VOR/DME (SJC) 280 degree radial at 5.6 nautical miles. (Latitude: 37º24'58"N, Longitude: 122º02'57"W)
          Radius: 10 nautical miles
          Altitude: From the surface up to and including 17999 feet MSL
      Effective Date(s):
          From June 24, 2016 at 2000 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1300 PDT)
          To June 24, 2016 at 2100 UTC (June 24, 2016 at 1400 PDT)

    Posted 2/17/09 (Indefinite) 

    A NOTAM has been issued in regards to the Washington DC Special Flight Rules Area (SFRA). In the interest of National Security the FAA has codified special flight rules and flight restrictions for certain aircraft operations in the Washington, DC Metropolitan Area. The new rules and the NOTAM went into effect on February 17, 2009 and were updated December 1, 2010. The rules and restrictions remain in effect until further notice. Outdoor model aircraft operations are prohibited within the inner portion of the SFRA known as the Washington Metropolitan Flight Restriction Zone (FRZ). TFRs are subject to change with very short notice. Please check back often for the most current NOTAM/TFR information. Timely alerts are also available on the web or on your cell phone at: Twitter.com/amagov.

    See the link to the NOTAM and the Map View of the Affected Area below for more detailed information regarding the restrictions:

    • FRZ - Approx, 15nm radius from Latitude: 38º51’34”N, Longitude: 077º02'11"W
      The DC FRZ is that airspace depicted beginning at Latitude: 38º59’31”N, Longitude: 077º18'30", thence clockwise along a 15nm arc from the DCA/VOR (Latitude: 38º51’34”N, Longitude: 077º02'11"W) to Latitude: 39º06’28”N, Longitude: 077º04'32"W, thence southeast via a line drawn to Latitude: 39º02’18”N, Longitude: 076º50'38"W, thence south via a line drawn to Latitude: 38º59’01”N, Longitude: 076º48'32"W, thence clockwise along a 13nm arc from the DCA/VOR to Latitude: 38º50’53”N, Longitude: 077º18'48", thence north to the point of beginning, excluding the airspace within a 1nm radius of Freeway Airport, Mitchellville, MD. The FRZ is within and part of the Washington Special Flight Rules Area (SFRA). 

    NOTAM - Washington DC Metropolitan Special Flight Rules Area

    NOTAM/TFR Updated 11/18/10 - 0/8326

    Map View of the Special Flight Rules Area

    View the TFR in Google Earth
    (Open the KML file or download and open in Google Earth)

    Posted 10/27/14 (Indefinite) 

    A permanent nationwide NOTAM/TFR has been issued for the airspace surrounding major sporting events. Special security instructions; commencing one hour before the scheduled time of the event until one hour after the end of the event… All aircraft operations; including parachute jumping, unmanned aircraft and remote controlled aircraft, are prohibited within a 3 nm radius from the surface up to and including 3,000' above ground level of any stadium having a seating capacity of 30,000 or more people where either a regular or post season Major League Baseball, National Football League, or NCAA division one football game is occurring. This NOTAM also applies to NASCAR, Sprint Cup, Indy Car, and Champ series races excluding qualifying and pre-race events. Flights conducted for operational purposes of any event, stadium or venue and broadcast coverage for the broadcast rights holder are authorized with an approved airspace waiver. An FAA airspace waiver does not relieve operators from obtaining all other necessary authorizations and complying with all applicable federal aviation regulations. The restrictions described above do not apply to those aircraft authorized by and in contact with ATC for operational or safety of flight purposes, department of defense, law enforcement, and air ambulance flight operations. TFRs are subject to change with very short notice. Please check back often for the most current NOTAM/TFR information. Timely alerts are also available on the web or on your cell phone at: Twitter.com/amagov.

    See the link to the NOTAM below for more detailed information regarding the restrictions:

    TFR - 4/3621

    Posted 10/27/14 (Indefinite) 

    Permanent NOTAM/TFRs have been issued for the airspace surrounding the Disneyland and Disney World theme parks. Special security instructions; all aircraft flight operations, including unmanned and remote controlled aircraft, are prohibited within a 3 nm radius of Disneyland (Anaheim, CA) and Disney World (Orlando, FL) from the surface up to and including 3,000’ above ground level. The restrictions do not apply to those aircraft authorized by and in contact with ATC for operational or safety of flight purposes, Department of Defense, law enforcement, and air ambulance flight operations. Flights conducted for operational purposes of any Disneyland/Disney World event and venue are authorized with an approved waiver. An FAA airspace waiver does not relieve operators from obtaining all other necessary authorizations and complying with all applicable federal aviation regulations.TFRs are subject to change with very short notice. Please check back often for the most current NOTAM/TFR information. Timely alerts are also available on the web or on your cell phone at: Twitter.com/amagov.

    See the links to the NOTAMs below for more detailed information regarding the restrictions:

    Map View of the Affected Areas

    View the Disney World TFR in Google Earth

    View the Disneyland TFR in Google Earth
    (Open the KML file or download and open in Google Earth)

    • Disney World (Indefinite)
      (3nm radius from Latitude: 28º24'45"N, Longitude: 81º34'20"W)
    • Disneyland (Indefinite)
      (3nm radius from Latitude: 33º48'05"N, Longitude: 117º55'17"W)

    TFR - 4/3634

    TFR - 4/3635


Read More News Items