Contact: Cassandra Bosco 202-415-2798

Arlington, Virginia, February 2, 2010 -- The National Aeronautic Association today released the list of nominees for the 2009 Robert J. Collier Trophy as well as the names of those individuals who will serve on the Collier Trophy Selection Committee.

The nominees are:

- Aircell
- Ares 1
- C-5M Super Galaxy
- Kandahar Airfield Operations Team
- International Space Station
- MC-12W Project Liberty Enterprise Team
- SpaceX Falcon 1 Development Team
- John Warner and the Excalibur Unmanned Combat Air Vehicle

The Collier Trophy, the “Greatest Award in Aviation,” has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement for 99 years. Awarded annually “….for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals and accomplishments in our nation’s history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V and the F-22.
Led by NAA Chairman Walter J. Boyne, the Selection Committee will consist of 31 leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace. The members are:

- The Honorable Norman Augustine

- The Honorable Marion Blakey, Aerospace Industries Association

- Robert Blouin, Hawker Beechcraft Corporation

- Edward Bolen, National Business Aviation Association

- Steven Callaghan, National Aviation Club Awards and Events Board - NAA

- David Coleal, Bombardier LearJet

- Ralph Crosby, EADS North America

- The Honorable Rudy Deleon, Center for American Progress

- David Franson, Wichita Aero Club

- Mathew Greene, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation

- Roy Kiefer, Lockheed Martin Corporation

- John Langford, Aurora Flight Sciences

- Thomas McKee, Northrop Grumman Corporation

- David Manke, United Technologies Corporation

- John Marino, FlightSafety International

- David Mathewson, Academy of Model Aeronautics

- Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support

- Stan O’Connor, GE Aviation

- Henry Ogrodzinski, National Association of State Aviation Officials

- Georgia Pappas, Aero Club of New England/The Ninety-Nines

- Steven Plummer, Rolls-Royce, North America

- Durwood (Skip) Ringo, DRS Technologies

- Alvin Sack, WBB Consulting

- Monroe (Buddy) Sams, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation

- Edward Scott, United States Parachute Association

- Robert Stangarone, Cessna Aircraft Company

- The Honorable Robert Sturgill, Rockwell Collins

- Mark Van Tine, Jeppesen

- Anthony Velocci, Aviation Week

- Robert Vilhauer, The Boeing Company

“We are extremely pleased with the list of nominations we have received for the Collier this year,” said Boyne. “These projects reflect the extraordinary diversity of individuals and achievements found in our aviation and aerospace industry. I look forward to sharing the selection process with this exceptional group of professionals.”
Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA and Executive Director of the Collier Selection process, added, “we are very proud of the history and significance of the Collier Trophy. The fact that these great nominations have been submitted for it is a testament to its importance to our aviation and aerospace industry.”
The Selection Committee will meet on Tuesday, March 2, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced the next day, March 3, at the NAA Spring Awards Luncheon to be held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.
The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place on May 13 at the Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia. More information can be found at

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit, membership organization devoted to fostering America's aerospace leadership and promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.

Read More News Items